Eddie’s Beach 10K – June 9th 2015

As will be obvious to a lot of you it has been some time since I have posted here. The reason is thankfully not that I haven’t been running. The blog was at risk of getting a bit repetitive, so I skipped a few (OK, loads of) races. Since I last posted, here is a quick update:

  • Great North Run HM – 1:53:34
  • Baxters Loch Ness Marathon – 4:49:06
  • Aviemore Half Marathon -1:50:30
  • Poppy Run (Fraserburgh) 5k – 23:55
  • Fraserburgh Half Marathon – 2:19:06
  • Pisa City Half Marathon – 2:00:13
  • Lumphanan Detox 10k – 58:28
  • Inverness Half Marathon – 2:20:45
  • Run Garioch Half Marathon – 2:25:00
  • Great Edinburgh Run 10 Miles – 1:35:21
  • City of Aberdeen Baker Hughes 10k – 58:31
  • Fraserburgh 10k – 55:34

As you can see, a bit all over the place. A couple of problems in there with a sore foot, calf and achilles contributes to the inconsistency. My motivation at the moment is quite good though and I am seeing slight improvements, so just need to keep this up.

Yesterday evening was the annual Metro Aberdeen beach 10k and this year it was named after Metro runner Neil Jaffrey (Eddie) who was tragically killed in 2014 – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-29124862. I never did have the privilege of meeting him that I can recall, but I have never heard a bad word said about him and I think the turnout at yesterday’s race just goes to show what people thought of him.

With around twenty minutes to go, I sat in the Beach Leisure Centre with my number in hand wondering if I should run this race at all due to a tight and painful Achilles tendon which has been bothering me for a few days now and got worse on Monday night. I decided to run, but to take it easy.

Starting near the back among a bunch of bright orange shirts from Hazelhead jogScotland, I got going at a slow and steady pace. Shona, who was aiming for her second 10k PB this year pushed on ahead a little bit. I was then caught by Myles Edwards who was pacing his friend. I grabbed this opportunity and ran with them until about 2 miles in when I decided I needed to ease back the pace a little.

Mile 1 – 8:51
Mile 2 – 8:54

The rest of the southward part of the race on the bottom prom was quite windy, and by the time I reached Fittie I was feeling a bit tired. A 10k after a shift at work is very different to a 10k on a Saturday morning when I’ve prepared properly and slept well. Still, I was now past the half way point and turning back onto the top prom and away from the wind. The only problem now was it suddenly felt very warm indeed.

Mile 3 – 9:24
Mile 4 – 9:06

The route now takes us back past the start line where we got a quick drink of water, back down to the end and onto the bottom prom again. Feeling the effects of the wind more this time round but knowing I only had one final mile to go, I managed to push on in my quickest mile of the day and finished in bang on 56 minutes. Only 26 seconds slower than Fraserburgh, but feeling quite a bit more human at the end this time round.

Mile 5 – 9:11
Mile 6 – 8:49
Mile 6.2 – 1:43 (7:29 mile pace)

Very good event. Cheap to enter, no frills race with a nice little goody bag at the end. Bottled water half way and at the end too. Very well organised and supported.

Graph generated at fetcheveryone.com - Pace versus miles with elevation at the bottom.

Graph generated at fetcheveryone.com – Pace versus miles with elevation at the bottom.

Results:
Time: 56:00
Position: 276/360

Leave a Reply

